Your Subtitle text

Undefeated Teams

Ferris High School played its first Varsity football season in 1964. Since that time, there have been only 3 teams that have gone undefeated and un-tied in league play.

The first Saxon team to win every regular season game was the 1971 team under the direction of first year coach, Dan Niksich. The 1970 team coached by Don Matthews, was also undefeated but they tied a game vs LC. Much like the 2010 Saxon team, the 1971 team had a great defense, giving up an average of only 7 points a game. The 1972 team, also coached by Niksich, only had one loss. This three year span produced 3 straight City League titles for the Saxons, a feat that has never been matched.

Dale Goodwin was a part of those Saxon teams. As a team manager, Dale remembers the bus rides back to the school after the victories. Said Dale, “Those years were really fun times. We’d get on the bus to ride back to the school and the guys would pass me back and forth through the bus over their heads.”

Another team to go undefeated was Jim Sharkey’s second Saxon team. The 2007 team was a perfect 9-0 and was GSL champs. Sharkey’s 2006 team had one loss, as did his 2008 GSL champion team.

The 2010 Saxon team, coached by Jim Sharkey, finished the year a perfect 14-0 and concluded with the school's first and only State Championship.